A Publication of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Oakland
Catholic Voice Online Edition
Front Page In this Issue Around the Diocese Forum News in Brief Calendar Commentary
Mission Statement
Contact Us
Publication Dates
Back Issues

Roman Catholic Diocese of Oakland

Movie Reviews

Mass Times

Catholic Voice
articles list
placeholder New deacons

Charismatics meet


Rev. Alexander Manville, OFM

Sister Mary Declan Foss, OP

Sister Mary Henry Williges, OP

Sister M. Josepha Baumann, SHF

Holy Land pilgrimage 'Sometimes it causes me to tremble'

Special section

Tribute to the
Class of 2016

Congratulations to graduates from Most Rev. Michael C. Barber, SJ and Sister Barbara Bray, SNJM

Saint Mary's College High School

Bishop O'Dowd
High School

St. Elizabeth
High School

High School

Moreau Catholic
High School

Holy Names
High School

Salesian College Preparatory

De La Salle
High School

St. Joseph Notre Dame High School

Lesson learned:
'Be a priest
for those kids'

Dream delayed:
Mom receives her
diploma at
St. Elizabeth

50th anniversary culminates with
two-day celebration

St. Philip Neri
graduate awarded CYO scholarship

In service,
SJND students encouraged to
follow their passion

St. Martin de Porres graduate awarded Roger Warrick Scholarship

New principals to serve in the Diocese
of Oakland schools

Student volunteers make 'Healing
Space' for high
school senior

BOD grad National Merit winner

May crowning
at All Saints

Altar servers

Graduation Awards

placeholder June 13, 2016   •   VOL. 54, NO. 11   •   Oakland, CA
Graduation 2016

Bishop O'Dowd High School

The Oakland school presented these honors at the June 5 graduation ceremony at the Paramount Theatre in Oakland:

General Activity Award: Frances Keer and Troy Coaston

Loyalty Award: Caitlin Ratto and Sean Lee

Scholar-Athlete Award: Aerial Chavarin and Nicholas Allen

Regents Award: Payton Silket

Carondelet High School

These honors were presented at the May 22 graduation ceremony on its Concord campus:

Carondelet Award: Kaitlyn Vella

Fontbonne Award: Sarah Burnash

Medaille Award: Emma Walsh

Principal's Award: Madeline Duncan

Senior Athlete Award: Kaylie Collins

Salutatorian: Kaylie Collins

Valedictorian: Micaela Camozzi

President's Lifetime Volunteer Service Award: Brittany Bates, Sarah Burnash, Gillian Erin Carlos, Anna Gilbert,Shannon Manhoso, Olivia Mello, Allison Popovits, Taylor Smallwood, Kaitlyn Vella and Vivian Vo

Salutatorian Finalist: Avery Avina, Sarah Burnash, Noreen Curran, Kayla Dempsey, Madeline Duncan and Giovannah Webb

Valedictorian Candidate: MacKenzie Baker, Jillian Garibaldi and Marina Gee

Valedictorian Finalist: Sarah Burnash, Celina Dioso, Sarah Hodson and Hannah Kenneally

Distinguished Alumna of the Year: Debrenia Madison-Smith '73

De La Salle High School

These honors were presented at the May 22 graduation ceremony on its Concord campus:

Brother Jerome Gallegos, FSC, Parents' Association Award: Daniel J. Roger Hassett

Brother Norman Cook, FSC, First Principal's Award: Jordan Anthony Ratinho

David Samson Special Achievement Award: Parker David Douglass

Rudy Schulze Leadership Award: Jack Henry Smith

Loyalty and Service Award: Jarryd Fernand David Tanedo

Signum Fidei Award: Marshall Jonathon Huberty

St. John Baptist de La Salle General Excellence Award: Erick Alexander Barrientos

Holy Names High School

Holy Names High School in Oakland presented this honor at its June 2 graduation at Holy Names University:

The Blessed Marie Rose Legacy Award: Isabella Moore

Moreau Catholic High School

The Hayward school presented these honors at graduation May 29 at the Paramount Theatre in Oakland:

Cross and Anchors Award: Hadari Dejuan Darden

Theology Award: Alexis Cameron Owens

Blessed Basil Moreau Award: Hannah Leuterio

Principal Award: Gabriel Steed Buffey

Mariner Leadership Scholarship and Award: Sarah Nicole Adams

Brother Gary Stone Memorial Scholarship and Award: Nathaniel Alonzo León

Valedictorian: Gabriel Steed Buffey

Salutatorian: Shunyao "Harry" Zhang

Highest GPA: Aniruddh Mandalapu

Second Highest GPA: Alexandra Noor Farhangui

St. Elizabeth High School

The Oakland school presented these honors at its May 27 graduation at the Cathedral of Christ the Light, Oakland:

St. Elizabeth Award: Arykah George

Student Government: Omar Gallegos, Arykah George, Jorge Gomez

Julian and Ashton Purvis Scholar Athlete: Odalis Gallegos

David Keith Stewart Community Service Award: Jorge Gomez

St. Elizabeth High School Christian Service Award: Omar Gallegos, Marcela Del Rio

National Honor Society: Jorge Gomez

Second Honors: Joel Badilla, Jacqueline Aranda-Castillo, Omar Gallegos, Arykah George, Bianca Maldonado, Daniel Mitchell, Fernando Ramirez, Guadalupe Sanchez

First Honors: Jorge Gomez

STEAM Award: Joel Badilla

Humanities Award: Jorge Gomez

Salutatorian: Omar Gallegos

Valedictorian: Jorge Gomez

St. Joseph Notre Dame High School

The Alameda school presented these honors at its June 4 graduation ceremony on campus:

Principal's Leadership Award: Dalia Quezada

Spirit of the Pilot Award: Daniel Ratto

Inspired by Christ Award: Abigail Leong

Fides et Caritas Award: Alexia Aranda

SJND Award for Excellence: Emily Lara

Valedictorian: Aaron Ramos

Salutatorian: Alexander Elfar

SJND Santone Scholarship for College Success: Alejandro Argueta and Natalie Scout Coberg

Saint Mary's College High School

The Berkeley school presented these honors at the June 5 graduation ceremony at Zellerbach Hall on the University of California at Berkeley campus:

Dei Verbum Award for Faith: Owen Andrew Lojo

Gaudium et Spes Award for Service: Julia Meiling Ward

Lumen Gentium Award for Community: Jennifer Melissa Chua

General Academic Excellence Award (based on GPA): Nolan David Jacobs-Walker

De La Salle Award for Religious Studies: Armando James Byrd

John Henry Cardinal Newman Award for English: Van Galaxy Naldoza

Eleanor Roosevelt Award for Social Studies: Miriam Eleanor Raffel-Smith

Galileo Galilei Award for Laboratory Science: Salomé Ragot

Brother Alfred Brousseau, FSC, Award for Mathematics: Nolan David Jacobs-Walker

Dante Alighieri Awards for World Languages: Salomé Ragot (French), Krystal Alvarez (Spanish)

Pablo Picasso Award for Visual Arts: Arville Akili Persons

Paul Robeson Award for Performing Arts: Van Galaxy Naldoza

Athletes of the Year: Kenady Rae Jackson, Andre Nnebe, and Taramick H.K. Pierce

Principal's Award: Rebecca Diane Torres

Salutatorian Award: Krystal Alvarez

Valedictorian Award: Cian Michael Modena-Hayden

Salesian College Preparatory

The Richmond school presented these honors at its June 4 graduation at the Cathedral of Christ the Light, Oakland:

Award for Excellence in Fine Arts: Jason Cordis

Award for Excellence in Liberal Arts: Kerry Kizer

Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science: Kimberly Hoh

Salesian Award: Tomas Gonzalez

Salutatorian: Erika Pasia

Scholar-athlete Award: Zachary Fontanilla and Minyon Moore

Valedictorian: Kimberly Hoh

back to topup arrow


Copyright © 2016 The Catholic Voice, All Rights Reserved. Site design by Sarah Kalmon-Bauer.