A Publication of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Oakland
Catholic Voice Online Edition
Front Page In this Issue Around the Diocese Forum News in Brief Calendar Commentary
Mission Statement
Contact Us
Publication Dates
Back Issues

Roman Catholic Diocese of Oakland

Movie Reviews

Mass Times

Catholic Voice
articles list
placeholder World Day of the Sick

At 100, John Muir volunteer continues
to give back

Spirit of old cathedral fills the new

Stars will shine at benefit for St. Martin
de Porres School

Pittsburg free clinic helps 750 in first year

A year as a consecrated virgin

Conference on spirituality, identity inspires students at Holy Names HS

New altar for St. Agnes

Twenty couples win 50th anniversary drawing

Lillian Black Arts festival scheduled
for Febuary 26

Albert the Great topic of lecture at DSPT

100 scouts earn awards for faith

Experts help families 'senior safety-proof' homes

Improving bond between generations

Get the facts about cataracts, eye surgery

placeholder  February 21, 2012   •   VOL. 50, NO. 4   •   Oakland, CA

Some of the scouts honored at the Cathedral of Christ the Light Celebration of Scouting.

100 scouts earn awards for faith

Scouts from St. Isidore School in Danville who received the Parvuli Dei achievement award from Father Jayson Landeza (right) were, from left, back row: Chris Ericson and Jack Baldyga. Center row: Jonny Huber, Cole Leone, Nicholaus Waizenegger, Christopher Rizkalli and Matthew Kennedy. Front row: Sean Stein, Julian Dean-Braga, Devin Motas and Joey Oertli.

The annual "Celebration of Scouting" prayer service for scouts in the Oakland Diocese on Feb. 4 at the Cathedral of Christ the Light honored Catholic young people, girls and boys, in scout programs in the diocese.

Father Jayson Landeza, past diocesan scout chaplain, led the ceremony, presented scout religious awards to 59 scouts and blessed the scouts and their scout leaders.

The Catholic Scout Religious Awards are a part of the scout program that honors the 12th point of the Scout Law: "A Scout Is Reverent." To earn a religious award, a scout must complete projects that demonstrate ways that the scout can live out his or her faith through the scout program, with the family or in the community. There are awards that can be earned for all ages of scouts, girls and boys. The awards are earned with the guidance of scout religious awards counselors.

In addition to the scouts who were honored at the cathedral, about 50 other scouts earned religious awards that were presented in their parishes during Scout Sunday celebrations. Boy Scout Sunday is designated on a Sunday in February, marking the founding of the Boy Scouts of America, 102 years ago. Girl Scout Sunday is designated on a Sunday in early March, commemorating the founding of the Girl Scouts of the USA, in 1912.

Catholic Scout programs are offered through the Oakland Diocese Catholic Committee on Scouting and the CYO Office. For more information about Catholic scout programs in the diocese visit the website; www.oakdiocesescouts.org or contact CYO at 510-893-5154.

The awards, scouts and their parish (not all attended the celebration):

Light of Christ Award: Warren Jones and Nathan Ilog, St. Joachim; Jack Salcedo, Henry Timmons, Gregory Andriano and Nicholas Carrano, St. Michael; Torrey Zaches, St. Philip Neri; Jozsef Kraynik and Celdan Tibay, St. Joseph, Pinole.

Parvuli Dei Award: Aidan Arnold-Galati, Kenny Kinzler and Nicholas Mullin, St. Joachim; Dylan Machado, St. Patrick, Rodeo; Jack Baldyga, Benjamin Devlin, Jonny Huber, Matthew Kennedy, John Mertes, Devin Motas, Christopher Rizkalli, Gregory Salmon, Nick Waizenegger, Cole Leone, Ryan Anthony, Julian Dean-Braga, Joey Oertli, Sean Stein and Chris Ericson, St. Isidore; Cayden Castagnetto, Matthew Hadley, Gino Molino, Mario Molino, Gabriel Smith, Marco Villamil and Andrew Williams, St. Agnes; Jonathan Raffel, St. Perpetua; Ben Ratto and Edgar Haro, St. Philip Neri; David Brown, St. Joseph, Fremont.

I Live My Faith Award: Angelique Avila, Lauren Abisie, Angelle Dagun, Julianne Diaz-Centeno and Kimberly Eng, St. Edward; Molly Barbeau and Chloe Molnar, St. Joseph Basilica. Ad Altare Dei Award: Aaron Smith and James Kraynik, St. Joseph, Pinole; Ryan Sanchez, St. Patrick, Rodeo; Dominic Carrano, Curtis McDonnell, Matthew Aufderheide and Ian Ransom, St. Michael; Dylan Nye, Jacob Nye, Nicholas Warriner and Joshua Hughes, Christ the King; Andrew Baker, St. Mary; Elias Lozano, Our Lady Queen of the World; Andrew Wood and Patrick Murray, St. Agnes; Thomas Santala, Josef Santala and Shawn Broussard, St. Bonaventure.

Spirit Alive Award: Marti Doke and Colleen Noland, Christ the King.
Pope Pius XII Award: Joseph Belman and Julian Kraynik, St. Joseph, Pinole; Casey O'Neal, St. Patrick, Rodeo.

back to topup arrow


Copyright © 2011 The Catholic Voice, All Rights Reserved. Site design by Sarah Kalmon-Bauer.