A Publication of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Oakland
Catholic Voice Online Edition
Front Page In this Issue Around the Diocese Letters Bishop's Column News in Brief Calendar
   
Mission Statement
Contact Us
advertise
Circulation
Publication Dates
Back Issues


Roman Catholic Diocese of Oakland

El Heraldo



Movie Reviews

Mass Times



Web
Catholic Voice
placeholder
articles list
placeholder St. Mary’s gives farewell thanks:
1853-2008

Seniors beautify St. Ambrose Church with tender care

Father Zielezienski assumes pastor role in San Ramon

New Alameda pastor left his mark on San Ramon parish

Spirit alive at World Youth Day

Sophia Center honors
work of priest ecologist

Bishops support Prop. 8, restoring definition of marriage

Convocation to explore broadening lay involvement in Church

Catholic advocates tame ‘stealth’ assisted-suicide bill in legislature

Volunteers sought to help with dedication events

Both sides of gun control weigh in on ruling

Worldwide Marriage Encounter offers ways
to improve communication, rekindle romance

Commentary
At 40, Humanae Vitae remains an important teaching

OBITUARIES

placeholder
placeholder August 4, 2008   •   VOL. 46, NO. 14   •   Oakland, CA
St. Mary’s gives farewell thanks—1853-2008

Acolyte Cheryl Resh and Bishop Emeritus John Cummins enter St. Mary’s Church for the July 26 Mass of Thanksgiving for 155 years of continuous ministry. The celebration honored former parishioners, school alumni and all those who ministered in the parish since its founding in 1853. The parish community (which in recent years absorbed parishioners from the now closed St. Francis de Sales Cathedral and St. Andrew-St. Joseph Parish) is leaving the site to become the Parish of Christ the Light at the new cathedral.
JOSé LUIS AGUIRRE PHOTO

St. Mary’s Church and other parish buildings at 7th and Jefferson, Oakland, circa 1950.
CTL PARISH ARCHIVES

LEFT: Jenny Kimball (left) and Sylvia Mill-Mulia of the Omega West Dance Company throw rose petals during the final procession leaving St. Mary’s Church, July 26. ABOVE: Rose Souza (left) and her daughter Gloria Corral, a graduate of St. Mary’s School, look for classmates during the farewell celebration, July 26.
JOSé LUIS AGUIRRE PHOTOs
LEFT: During the July 26 liturgy, Father Antonio Valdivia, a graduate of St. Mary’s School (see photo at right) says the parish gave him the experience of a “true ecclesia” where Irish, Italian, Mexican, African American, Greek and Portuguese worshipped together. RIGHT: In June 1948, the winners of the fifth-sixth grade spelling bee at St. Mary’s School were, from left, first row, Tomas Juarez (now a Salesian priest) and Loretta Chin; second row, Antonio Valdivia (now a diocesan priest), Bobby Stratman, Evangeline Cruz, Dora Lucero; third row, Joe Benevidez, Gene Grady, Jeannette Perrin, Loretta Lucero; fourth row, Ed Perry, Fernando Arroyo, Anita Gomez, Elodie Gallet.
JOSé LUIS AGUIRRE PHOTO • HISTORIC PHOTO COURTESY OF JACKIE GILLIO MADERA

LEFT: Parishioners and former members gather outside St. Mary’s Church following the July 26 Mass of thanksgiving. ABOVE: Holy Names Sisters, from left, Donna Maynard, Cynthia Canning, Jean Elizabeth and Rosario Maria are honored during the thanksgiving celebration. The religious community has served St. Mary’s from 1868 to the present.
JOSé LUIS AGUIRRE PHOTOs
Father Michael King, pastor of St. Mary’s Parish from 1865-1904, with young students, circa 1903.
CTL PARISH ARCHIVES

Concelebrating the July 26 with Bishop Emeritus John Cummins are, from left, Father Quang Minh Dong, rector of the Cathedral of Christ the Light; Father Donald Osuna, rector of St. Francis de Sales Cathedral, 1975-1986; Father Jerrold Kennedy, Father Antonio Valdivia and Salesian Father Tomas Juarez.
JOSé LUIS AGUIRRE PHOTO

 
RIGHT: Father Charles Philipps, pastor, welcomes the Sisters of Social Service to the parish in 1938. They served the poor and homeless in the area until the late 1950s.
BELOW: Parishioners gather in Jefferson Park on July 26, 1942, for Exposition of the Blessed Sacrament in observance of St. Ann’s Day.
 
RIGHT: MONITOR PHOTO/CTL PARISH ARCHIVES
BELOW: CTL PARISH ARCHIVES
 
back to topup arrow

home

 
Copyright © 2008 The Catholic Voice, All Rights Reserved. Site design by Sarah Kalmon-Bauer.